Parts Now Pay Later with
Log In Cart
Log In

Create An Account

Log In Cart
Your Cart Is Empty

Hondata 02-04 RSX Type-S ECU Reflash Reviews

Free Shipping Over $199.99

Free Shipping Over $199.99

Orders of $199.99 or more ship free within the continental U.S.

Shipping Policy

★★★★★ ★★★★★
4.88/5.00 Stars out of 42 Reviews
Write a Review
5
38
4
3
3
1
2
0
1
0
Made a huge difference
Foster | February 16th, 2021
Due to Covid the total process took about 2 weeks from me sending it out to getting it back. But the wait is well worth it. It does smooth out the power band a lot and you no longer get that huge difference when VTEC kicks in but can still tell when it hits. Reving to 8600 makes it way more fun and it constantly stays in VTEC because of it. If I could go back I would buy this first my car before anything else.
Lord
McMinty | January 28th, 2021
Made my car a lot more fun. Going to upgrade once I piece together a turbo kit
BEST bang for the buck!
Cris | June 6th, 2020
Now My type s feels very responsive whenever i get on it, This mod is a must, very pleased with purchase, don't think twice to get this you wont regret it!
Hondata flash
Evocross | February 3rd, 2020
This Hondata ECU flash is definitely well worth the money. The car runs so much better and is far more responsive in the mid range rpm and it’s really nice that vtec goes to 8600 now.
Review
Bradley Biggs | December 27th, 2019
As stated by numerous others the ECU reflash really pulls your bolt on together nicely and the staff are very helpful as well! THANKS!
Far more civilized a must
Chris Guinn | October 27th, 2017
Didn't realize how far from optimal the stock calibration was downshifting let off everything about the driving experience improved far easier smoother and more quiet not as hot/cold on/off all or nothing and yeah she's ready for that mustang new redlines like an illicit substance
Well worth it, and can upgrade to kpro later? SOLD!
Drew Ottman | August 22nd, 2017
Definitely helped my 2003 RSX S with CAI,RH,AND EXHAUST. VTEC at 5200 still gives a nice crossover and the throttle response is amazing. I also have a ITR ecu so I will say each have their advantages but other then VTEC they both make the car a MEAN MACHINE; maybe I'll do a dyno comparison one day.
Worth?
Mario Cruz | June 13th, 2017
IT DID NOT LOWER VTEC stayed at 5800rpm. That's what I was looking forward to the most. But I still gave it a 4 star because you can feel the power gain, nothing to crazy though. But yes worth the money! BEFORE: AFTER: 04 RSX Type S 14 Honda Si
Best bang for your buck!
Dole Mohamed | December 24th, 2015
Best bang for your buck! I had the an injen cai before I got the reflash and it basically just made the car sound better. There wasn't a noticeable difference in power. Now the power band is very even and smooth. I don't have to wait till 6k rpms for power. I even spin tires in 1st if I floor it. Definitely worth the money. I also like how they let you pay the difference for Kpro if you want to do more upgrades.
Best $300 I ever spent.
Nathan K | May 13th, 2015
I have the reflash along with an aem v2 intake and 8600 limiter. I must say having the power down low makes regular street driving much easier. The car just wants to go once i put my foot down and this is WITHOUT downshifting to gain speed. For those spirited runs the car comes alive more than before stock and wants to keep going until the road runs out. It makes it feel like a much better car and feels like it should have been like this from the start. This is a must have in my opinion for anyone that cant afford kpro yet(like me) or someone that wants some extra power for a stock daily or a full bolt on rsx.. Kseriesparts customer service was extremely helpful and helped sort out whatever issues there were with my order. If you are thinking about buying the reflash definitely get it from Kseries.
Amazing
Michael | December 4th, 2014
Worth every penny. The torque is way better, having vtec earlier is nicer than you think, and with the 8600 limiter you essentially go from 2000 rpm of vtec to 3400 rpm of vtec. If you just have intake and exhaust, or even just intake I highly recommend. Also, gained about 1/2 to 1mpg increase.
hondata
Johnny Chanthalima | August 22nd, 2014
I ordered this a few months ago, it's definatley worth the money. If you plan on kpro later on get this first until you can save up
Not what I expected
Kynal Kou | July 29th, 2014
I purchased this and got it last Friday. At first, I was hesitant on shipping out my ECU, immobilizer, and key. Who knows what could go wrong. If i lose those, I'm pretty much screwed. My car would be an empty shell sitting duck. I was wronged. It was fast. They shipped it back the next day. Great service, would do business again. Now onto the Reflash. DAMMMM!!! THIS IS CRAZY!!! It pulls harder than before. Although top end, you can't feel the pull anymore. Low and mid range is where you feel it. It's not a dramatic change like the old VTEC dip you feel when VTEC kicks in, everything just blends in. I got only a CAI for engine mods. It's too soon to judge and get an overall feeling as it's only been 3 days of driving with it. However, today when going to work, it really does help as a daily driver, it is no longer an effort to gain speed from a stop, No longer have to rev so high. Is it worth the $600 they charged back then, HELL TO THE NO. At $290, it's reasonable for the gain. In conclusion, best bang for the buck mod. You won't regret it.
WOW, do this now!
Jeremy Merrill | September 11th, 2013
Wow, this is by far the best thing I could have ever done to my rsx type s. I already had injen cai, hondata img, dc shorty header, test pipe, tanabe touring medallion exhaust. Which is great. But until I got the reflash, vtec dipped between gears making it incredibly annoying and weak. Now my vtec stays active between gears, my redline is 9k so I can actually stay in vtec forever even shifting at 8500. I was unsure about doing this at first, but I am so glad I did. I feel like the car was 0-60 in 7 seconds and after reflash 0-60 in 5.5 seconds. I unfortunately don't have a dyno to show before or after, I wish I did. But I can say DO THIS NOW! don't even hesitate, and if you plan on doing much more than bolt ons, get KPRO instead! I am very happy where I'm at now. I'm tuned at probably equivalent of street tune on a KPRO , just I cannot modify or change anything, which is fine with me.
Not what i expected based on all the reviews
Michael Bingnear | August 27th, 2013
So i would say that if i had paid the $600 this reflash used to be i would have returned it screaming at hondata that it is garbage, I have a injen cold air and a test pipe and i honestly dont feel much of a difference at all besides the lowered vtec point, i picked up .2 at the track 14.8 down from 14.99 i feel that this reflash is a waste of money, save up and get kpro and then get it dyno tuned for max gains cuz the reflash is nothing big. disappointed.
love it
Pablo Leon | August 25th, 2013
this is a must if you own a type-s. sent my ecu out Wednesday afternoon got it back Friday really fast turn around
Well worth the money
Justen | September 27th, 2012
After reading all the reviews I couldn't wait to get mine . Everything I expected. Im only running aem V2 SRI along with The reflash and i can feel the difference in power especially on top end. Very satisfied with this purchase. Thank you crsx for this great product!
worth every penny twice over
Civlude97 | August 17th, 2012
sent the ecu out monday with standard shipping (10.6$ from MI to CA) and had to back at my front door thursday.. insane fast shipping and very smooth transaction. Once installed i noticed a HUGE increase in usable power and a very strong overall power band. at first its hard to get used to the elimination of the dramatic vtec dip. In all this was well worth the 300$ shipped i paid and is by far a must for those seeking quick, cheep power and dont plan on building or boosting any time soon. I have a youtube video of the before and after for those interested(youtube name Lilskater519). Cars only other mods are AEM V2 and comptech shift kit.
02 RSX Type S Reflash
Matt | May 29th, 2012
Noticeable change in VTEC engagement and low end torque. Love the 8600 redline:). Definitely more fun to drive but isn't worth the 600 it was a couple years ago. With a tune, I'm sure I would feel more of a difference.
Worth Every Penny!!
Joe | May 12th, 2012
This Reflash really brings out the true performance of your basic bolt ons. Highly recommend this mod if you don't plan on turbo or supercharger. Couldn't be more happier!! Thanks to Club RSX and Hondata!
Love it man.
Stoopidstock | May 9th, 2012
The product did as it said it would and as all of these other guys said. Best bang for the buck. Really unleashed some of that covered up power from stock. Love it, especially the 8600 rev limiter.
Great bang for the buck!
Joseph | February 13th, 2012
This is one of the best mods I have purchased for my car. It entirely changed the powerband, allowing for a lot more torque in any rpm. I feel most of the power during daily driving, as well as up high in the VTEC range. It pulls harder than ever, and the 8600 rev limit is quite addictive! I highly recommend this modification for anybody who wants a great increase in power all throughout the powerband.
Insane!
Spencer | February 6th, 2012
I have an 02 Type S with 197k miles, CAI, and a longtube. The first vtec pull after putting my ecu back in left my hands shaking....the difference was unreal. Shipped it out thursday night, got it back monday morning: very impressed! Super smooth transaction!
Good gains
A.G. | August 10th, 2011
Definitely can feel some added power and car runs very smooth. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is bc its almost too smooth. Gone is the aggressive vtec sound. The extra rpms is nice tho and has no problem reaching it.
Good product, good gains
Maryan | April 7th, 2011
The reflash netted a good amount of power for me. See my dyno results thread where I compared the stock ecu with this reflashed one. Overall I got awesome midrange gains and 4-8whp all the way up to redline. Very happy with the results.
Reflash
Trev | March 24th, 2011
It's awesome, but already ready already to upgrade to K Pro. So that's the next purchase!
Reflash ftw
Josh bauerlein | March 11th, 2011
This is everything I expected. This is how Honda should have released the type s from the factory. Great for those of you who have light mods and not looking to spend the money on kpro. I have a sri and exhaust and I could not be more satisfied for $290.
Exactly what they promised!
EnzoBeneno | March 8th, 2011
For the money, there is no better mod. Quick and easy.
Makes for a better overall drive
Ryan | February 11th, 2011
Best bang for the buck! It makes the car souch more fun to drive. If you're looking to get a little more out of your car without laying down too much money, this mods worth it. It's makes the car get up and go so much easier. Much smoother power band.
Great mod for the price
Vince M | December 27th, 2010
At first, had the reflash paired w/ a gutted box, hi/dri flow filter and results were pretty good, especially in low/mid RPM as car pulled harder and was easier to drive in daily traffic. Recently swapped out gutted box w/ SRI; low/mid RPM feel the same still, but high end definitely feels smoother and pulls harder. I've read alot of reviews with adjectives like "wow" and "holy #$&!"; while I wouldn't go that far, I am happy w/ the reflash. After having it, I will say that I would NOT have purchased a reflash for 600 bucks though.
Thanks Clubrsx, thanks Hondata.
ricky | December 19th, 2010
I'm extremely pleased with the new calibration on my ecm, it not only idles smoother and pulls with more torque at low rpms without hustle , but you can really feel the difference in high rpms, i got a 03 rsx type s with hondata img, cai,dcssrh,custom 2.5 catback and the newly reflash, i pulled on a s2000 with intake and exhaust( same car beat me for like a bus length before) im dont drive my car hard all the time, i love driving slow actually, but now when i do, it puts a big smile on my face. i shipped my box(overnight) on wednesday the 15th at 5:00pm and got it back friday the 17th at noon!, thanks club rsx and thanks hondata for a pleasant transaction.
Very Good
jon-js | October 13th, 2010
thank you clubrsx for smooth transaction. The reflash is very good.I like the added torque on the car. very smooth going all the way up on the RPM.
hondata fast shipping
scott | September 13th, 2010
Holy Shit!!!!!!!! thats all i gotta say!!!! crsx FTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best bang for bolt-ons
Jackson | September 6th, 2010
I have an ep3 with a k20a2 swap and the usual bolt-ons I/H/E. Before the reflash the car felt very rough right before the VTEC crossover and I had to downshift to climb a hill or pass cars on the freeway. After the reflash I have a lower VTEC point and more rpm's to rev to the new 8600 redline. The car feels quiet even when crossing VTEC and driving it is no longer a fight due to the more usable torque curve. The car idles smoother and driving it feels like it should have been this way from the factory. I would simplify it by saying it brings all bolt-ons together
Great buy and great shipping!
Abel Correa | August 23rd, 2010
The reflash works great! Power gains are noticeable depending on other add-ons of course. Vtec engagement change is very helpful. The most important part is the shipping service. It arrived right on time very well wrapped and once installed everything turned over perfectly. Great buy if you are on a budget! No more having to rev it too high just to stay in vtec.
More power for the money than any other upgrade.
Juan Santiago | August 18th, 2010
My RSX feels like a completely different animal. I live in the city, so the torque gains are a HUGE benefit. I no longer have to hit vtec to get around city streets in a hurry. AS long as you're keeping your RSX N/A, you'll definitely want this upgrade. On a side note, my check engine light came on as soon as I started the car, after receiving the ECU from HONDATA. I can't say for sure that it's related to the reflash, but what are the odds? I'll have the codes checked out to see what the problem is. Either way, it's still worth every penny and more.
awesome definitely made a difference!
mike | August 11th, 2010
I was skeptical about the reflash but its awesome. I can probably actually get to at least 150mph now. sixth gear actually does something now. I have pwjdm intake, obx race header, rbc manifold, and rs×r exmag exhaust and with the reflash the car pulls hard as hell now. Its a good first step towards getting kpro one day. You can always upgrade at a reduced price. Would definitely recommend reflash!
Reflash
Stacy | July 7th, 2010
made my car run better. overall a good buy, especially for the vtec kicking in at 5200rpm and the rev limiter at 8600rpm.
best bang for the buck
jason | February 24th, 2009
imo, reflash is the best performance mod you can make when you're starting out. upgrading to kpro is a great idea after you add on all the bolt ons. worth every penny.
ECU Reflash
Bobby Ferreira | September 26th, 2008
Totally transformed the car, felt brand new after the reflash. I have a SRI, Exhaust, Shorty Header with Hi Flo Cat and the car was reaching 70,000 miles when I reflashed it. Best bang for your buck, no problems at all.
wow.
brett | September 26th, 2008
I was amazed... i didnt notice the vtec kick in in 3rd and all of a sudden i was going like 80. makes the car much smoother and the added torque is really noticeable when just driving around parking lots and such... only complaint is no stickers...:(
Great for lightly modified applications.
jb | March 26th, 2008
This ECU software really opens up the engine to make better power for lightly modified applications. For the price, it will give you more power than any simple bolt on, and when paired with aftermarket intake and exhaust the results will be slightly better. Gains are seen on both the low end and the high end with the improved VTEC window, and the car seems to have no problem handling the increased redline (though hitting the higher rev limiter is not a good idea). The discounted upgrade to K-pro is good for those who plan to upgrade to a more heavily modified setup later on.